Science Magazine: Texas Neurologist and Professor elected New American Academy of Neurology President

Posted on: Monday, May 1st, 2023

Carlayne Jackson, MD

Carlayne Jackson, MD, a specialist in the treatment and research of neuromuscular disorders such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, Lou Gehrig’s disease), neurologist and chair of the Department of Neurology at UT Health San Antonio has been elected as the 38th president of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN).

According to the the American Academy of Neurology, AAN is the world’s largest professional association of neurologists and neuroscience professionals dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care.

To read the full announcement, visit

Article Categories: In the News